desert country

When I moved to New Mexico nearly 30 years ago, I fell in love with the desert.  Visiting the southern part of the state always brings back great memories of that time in my youth when I discovered the enchanted land.  One of my first experiences in the Dona Ana mountains involved being blindfolded for a long drive into the heart of the desert as part of an initiation into a national honorary society.  A few cohorts and I then had to navigate with maps and compass for the better part of the day through the desert and mountains to find a barbecue and cold keg of beer waiting.  Now, when I return to the Dona Ana’s, the prize is awesome singletrack and great mountain biking.  If you’re willing to explore, there’s a lot of great stuff out there.

Dona Ana caldera.

Dona Ana caldera.

 

my better half!

my better half!

Ocotillo.

Ocotillo.

DA4

In a couple of weeks, this barrel cactus will have beautiful blooms.

until next time.....

until next time…..

 

2 thoughts on “desert country

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

